3500

3500

‘How much for the motor mate?’

William was tending to his allotment, happily bathed in north Cornish sun, when the sounds of an inquisitive younger man interrupted both his pruning and his enjoyment of a grand little gem that was playing through the miracle of DAB radio.

William stood and walked towards the gate.

‘Hello there,’ William says, ‘and how are you?’

‘Ah, yes, sorry. Very well thank you. How are you?’

‘Pretty good. Working the land,’ William adds, turning as he does so to his raised vegetable beds and rows of sweet peas, raspberries and strawberries.

‘Good man. My Dad had an allotment in Wadebridge. Used to like going there with him. He’s passed now but happy memories.’

The man puts out his hand to offer a handshake to which William willingly responds.

‘The names Tristram and it’s a pleasure to meet you,’ he says, his whole face beaming as he does so.

‘William, and likewise.’

‘Sorry for not saying hello first. I always seem to be in a rush these days. I just saw the fabulous car on the road and thought I’d ask how much you want for it.’

‘That’s fine. Life can be eaten in too much of a hurry can’t it.’

‘Aye. Time’s a luxury.’

‘It’s a necessity Tristram. You should remember that.’

Tristram smiles in return. William catches the cheeky glint in his eyes.

‘As for the car young man, it will cost you what it says!’

Tristram nods. He assumes he is now party to an ancient haggling game that is now afoot.

‘Right. I hear you.’ A pause as a turnstone flies overhead, two cyclists ride by and the earth tilts a little more. ‘So, what will you really take for the car?’

William, pleased with the chase, replies,

‘The windscreen price. That’s what I will take. Nothing more and nothing less.’

Tristram shifts his weight from one foot to the other, eyeing up the smiling older man before him. He asks,

‘Now, do I look like a wealthy man?’

William wasn’t sure how to respond to this. His own son Robert was extremely wealthy and very much looked it so no, the man before him did not look wealthy. There again how could you really know?

‘You look like a man who’s very interested in my car,’ responds William with a satisfied smile. ‘Shall we take a look?’

‘Yes please!’

They walk out to the sports car which is parked on the large grass verge away from the road. It looks spotless and gleams brightly in the late afternoon sun.

‘How long have you had her?’ asks Tristram, with William noting he has given the car a gender.

‘Oh about 30 years I guess. Sat in various garages for too long waiting for my son to come and take it but, well, that’s families for you.’

‘So you’ve decided to let her go?’

‘I have,’ says William, ‘time to move on. I need new windows at home,’ he adds, laughing.

‘And where’s home?’ asks Tristram.

‘Oh just down the lane in Port Issac.’

‘Oh wonderful! That’s where I’ve just been of course, visiting Mum, and was driving back home to Wadebridge when I saw the car. Do you mind if I have a closer look?’ asks Tristram.

‘Be my guest. Take as much time as you like,’ replies William.

The potential buyer now walks around car, stroking the bonnet, appreciating the beauty of a classic racing green MG.

William leaves him to it and returns to his allotment shed to make a pot of Yorkshire tea. By the time Tristram returns, William is sat on a garden bench with a steaming pot and Mcvities ginger biscuits waiting for them both. The early summer sun is shining brightly and the birds are incessantly talking.

‘Oh my!’ laughs Tristram as he walks through the gate and sees the scene.

‘All part of my car showroom routine,’ laughs William.

Tea is poured, civilities shared, and for a moment the two men sit there listening to Chopin and the sounds of the garden.

‘I love the car,’ says the younger man.

‘I know,’ replies William. ‘Knew it as soon as I saw you at my gate.

‘How many miles has it got on the clock?’

‘3500,’ replies William with a wide smile. Tristram almost drops his tea with this news.

‘Is that all?! Well that makes the car a...’

‘Snip,’ offers William.

Another gentle pause.

‘Why?’ asks Tristram.

‘Enjoy it,’ replies William, ‘it’s been waiting just for you.’

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.