Devonian

By Mover

A Golden Day

These are my golden days and today was a particularly good one. I walked to Brixham setting off fairly early. The sun shone all day. The good thing about the seaside and Brixham harbour in particular, is that there is always something interesting to look at. That suits a retired layabout like me. There are usually other white haired retired layabouts hanging around enjoying their golden days, which gives me an opportunity to have a conversation. Today’s chat went like this. ‘It will be ready by summer. All it needs is some Hammerite paint and a good stonemason.’ The boat in the picture is made of ferro-cement, is called Sea Beast, and registered in London. It is not all that old, it just looks vintage. It was available to buy on eBay 18 months ago for £700 subject to immediate removal. Since then it has sunk twice and incurred about £200K in repair costs to the mooring jetty, as well as salvage costs. I’m not really old, I just look vintage

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.