Blackthorn Winter

I first heard beware of blackthorn winter from my granny. It's a saying used by country people and particularly growers. It is a period of very cold, frosty and sometimes snowy weather which can occur around the end of March and the beginning of April at the time the blackthorn is in bloom. This black-barked tree with sharp thorns which bears sloes, blooms a bit later than our native cherries and cherry plums. The flowers open before the leaves appear and their sepals cup the bloom rather than recurve.

The forecast was correct. We had a strong north wind with snow flurries. The flakes were tiny, about the size of the blackthorn flower petals. I've added a pic with snowflakes to extras.

After lunch the sun came out and Ollie dog and I walked at Lodge Farm. I'd put my vest, scarf and gloves away but was very glad that I wore them all. It's always windy at the farm but it was absolutely bitterly cold there today. The blackthorn bushes in bloom in the hedges can be seen.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.