The top of town from Rodborough Common

I often refer to Rodborough Common, as I did in my journal yesterday, so I thought I'd go for a walk there today. It was already late when I set off. After parking I started by walking to the west side, of the common in nearly the opposite direction to this view with its views over the Severn estuary across to South Wales. 

It was so cold there with the wind coming straight in my face that I couldn't stay long. When I returned to the little car park I decided to spend a couple of minutes taking pictures back across to the top of town. I've been meaning to get a more recent picture from this vantage point of the Chapels of Rest in the cemetery. The cemetery lies close to our house on the hillside just above us. Our house is the last one on the right just below the Chapels, with The Horns valley leading off up to the right. The Iron Age Hill Fort I. mentioned  yesterday is just behind where I'm standing straddling the ridge of the common.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.