memento

By memento

Mooi River (Pretty River)

This small but lovely river lives up to its name and runs through my home town, not too far from my high school.

Around every shady bend these deep, lazily swirling pools reflect the overhanging willow trees. When I was in high school it was the favorite hangout in the afternoons when homework was done. We swam in the deepest pools, had mud fights and swung from the ropes that were tied to the high tree branches.

When I was a senior in high school, "going to the river" took on an entire different meaning. Its dark, shady bends and willow trees with branches so low that they shut out the world, were the secret places where romance blossomed and young hearts were broken.

Walking around the river bank with my brother today was wonderful. It was sunny and warm and as I was trudging around in the tall grass, I felt sixteen years old again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.