Ring of Fire: Tamaracks at Sunset, Quehanna

The weather was expected to be lovely. Sunny and cool and breezy on Sunday, and a bit warmer on Monday. So my husband and I set out for our first backpack of the year, to the back-country of the Quehanna Wild Area, also known to us as the Valley of the Elk.

We arrived at our campsite early in the afternoon on Sunday and spent a pleasant day in the woods. By mid-afternoon, my tent was up and most of my gear was in it. You may see a photo of my campsite in the extras. That long, green thing in my tent is Big Agnes, the blow-up sleeping pad. My husband's tent can be seen nearby.

There is a rock we like to go to and sit on, that provides a fine view out over the valley. We go there and simply sit sometimes, watching for elk or other wildlife. As the sun was setting, it lit up the tippy-tops of the tamaracks across the valley like a flame. Yes, it was a very fine view indeed.

The soundtrack song is Home Free, with Ring of Fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.