Old Kiln Lakes

I've just signed up for a photography course.  It hasn't started yet but I know that the first assignment will be called "Square Mile" where the idea is to document some aspect of the area where you live.  As you will have noticed I live on a hillside surrounded by trees and birds and animals.  I'm not sure that's quite what my tutor is going to expect.  So, at the bottom of the hill, about a quarter of a mile away as the Red Kite flies, is a new housing estate built on a brownfield site - the site of the old chalk quarry and cement works that were demolished 20 odd years ago.  That has a lot of potential as alongside the new buildings are echoes of the past with an old cement kiln, flooded quarry pits, scrub land and replanted areas.  Classic "Edgelands"!  This shot is of the Chinnor Works (i.e. Cement Works) Angling Society's pond, with its welcoming signs.  I'm going to have a lot of fun with this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.