Nostalgia

Another cold but gorgeous bright day . The house is very nearly done - second coats around a couple of windows (one in a precarious position up high above the decorative rose arch. there were complaints about thorns up one's arse!); a bit we realised should be white rather than blue and then some tidying up. It is looking dead posh!

The theme for this month's Tiny Tuesday is a general something that makes you happy.  Well my bluebell grove gives me huge delight. I planted about 12 bulbs in the Fairy Walk when we first arrived and over the years (almost 19) they are now looking almost abundant. Especial delight this year as for the last two years I've missed them being in New Zealand.  I love bluebells and they take me back to my childhood  where they was one particular wood in the village called Sparkey Wood. In April it was always covered in a dense blue carpet, you could walk through swathes of them, get heady on the scent, make dens in them and collect armfuls (I wouldn't do the last thing now of course!). Some years ago, I did an English road trip, a very nostalgic one, and ended up in the little village in Essex where I had lived. It had changed hugely over the years and become a commuter belt yet it still retained a rural feel. Did I dare go down and see if the bluebells were still flourishing in Sparkey Wood, would there even be a Sparkey Wood? I went down the (still) tiny lane with some trepidation but a glorious sight met my eyes - a bit of searching of the archives and there it is in the extra! Still, wild, still abundant, still heady. My little patch is very modest but it transports me back to carefree times meandering around that wood. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.