My work space

Having spent a significant part of the Easter weekend rearranging and tidying my desk, and two bookshelves, I have taken a photo to show it. A third bookshelf (which was against the wall next to the clock) has been emptied and relocated upstairs to help get books off the floor and other surfaces.

I am pleased to say that the space invites use; by me at least. Also, appealing to the Green (re-use) part of me are the following:

My desk chair; bought when I was student in Dunedin for five shillings (50c in decimal coinage). When bought, the legs were tied together with Nº 8 fencing wire in good Kiwi fashion. Cleaned, restained, reglued and its lasted more than 50 more years.

The desk is an old rimu public service desk with eight drawers. Two handles need replacement

On the desk is something I picked up in a junk antique shop. It may have been for mail or storing papers. I'm using it for various bits of stationery, little of which I use currently.

The armchair was bought when we were still in the villa in Herne Bay (Auckland), and restored by S. It provides a place for sitting reading.

The bookcase on the left was also purchased from a seller of previously used furniture. Still quite solid. Viewers with exceptional sight may be able to discern that I have used my father's old wooden nail-punch holder as a bookend on the second shelf, while on the top shelf is his old wooden spirit level

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.