Zen with Red, the vet, the abcess, and overseas

This morning started early with a dog wander to empty tanks and a visit to the horses to do the usual.

Jeeps hoof abcess, after looking like it was about to burst from his coronet band, has retracted and is not showing anywhere. He's not as sore so I am continuing to soak and poultice.

Next, a vet visit for Talisker. He's been getting very weak at the back end and the last couple of weeks, this has gotten worse. Bloods taken and these show nothing to worry about. The vet is pretty sure it's just him aging and degenerating, being a large breed dog. He is only 8 and a half but has always had a bit of a gangly back end. It sucks. He really is THE best dog. But just lately his tail has wagged a little less :(

This takes me up to 9.30am. There followed a sit down (rare in daytime), a dog walk and a return to the horses.

Because of the weather, I've not ridden in AGGGESSSSS... so with a semi decent but freezing wind, I took George out bareback, just to stretch his legs.

Then Red. Red is a very sensitive boy and when I ride him on his own this really is highlighted. The more relaxed and zen I am, the more relaxed he is. Today I had him walking home, on the buckle, head down and going so slow we would have been overtaken by any slow walker. Its meditation for the both of us. And just what I needed.

I now await the return of Gorgeous from another Isles trip...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.