earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

April Snow

The forecast suggested we'd be waking up to snow yesterday, but the showers missed us completely, presenting blue skies throughout and brilliant light. Today, the forecast was only for more sunshine and, of course, the snow arrived. It felt so bitterly cold that it was a surprise not to find it settling.

I'm not sure I can remember a day when the showers emerged so quickly out of such intensely clear skies. It was nothing if not dramatic. I had three layers under my down jacket and still felt cold, colder than I've felt through a winter of some pretty cold weather. Our perception of temperature is far more relative than we perhaps tend to think. After last week my body was halfway through acclimating to summer.  

It's good to be reminded that there is almost always some snowfall in April. The previous year was exceptional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.