Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Looking Down

I’m currently converting from my previous qualification for flying drones to the new system, which was introduced by the CAA at the beginning of the year.  As part of the new rules we appear to be in a bit of a transitional period as they require the drones to be certified into one of 4 classes.  Currently there are no drones that meet these new classifications (and no suggestion that these currently available drones will be certified retrospectively) so from 2023 all of the current drones being flown will be restricted to flying in the most restrictive class, something that won’t make it much fun!

I need to do a bit of flying to confirm I have the appropriate flying hours.  I just gave the drone a quick check over, updated firmware and sent it up and back down quickly to check it’s flight worthiness.  It was the only shot I took today.

Sadly I had to advise the business I mentioned yesterday that they must close until Monday.  Thankfully the ground work I did with the director yesterday paid dividends as although he was disappointed at the news, he accepted the decision with good grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.