pipes

2014 some government officials decided to save money by changing the source of water for Flint, Michigan. The new water wasn't treated, corroded the coating of the pipes, exposed the lead, and permanently damaged children. They didn't finish replacing the pipes until this year. 

The EPA says there are between 6 to 10 million lead service lines in the country. This is a serious water infrastructure problem that the Environmental Defense Fund says may be poisoning half a million children. Lead reduces IQ and self-control. Imagine being a poor child and having even your intellect and your self-control diminished. 

The infrastructure bill plans to eliminate all lead water pipes in the country. $45B. It would take at least ten years. 

So another mushy post:  
A fabulous, funny, loving, gay, irreverent, extroverted, good-looking, smart, young ER doctor killed himself the other day. Everyone who knew him is distraught. Straight women adored him, lesbians adored him, and I think some straight men adored him, because he was adorable. We knew the Covid death and suffering he was witnessing was hard, but we are still in shock. 

So I want to thank you again. My last thank you was for keeping yourselves safe. Now I would like to thank you for being part of my social network. I have family and corporeal friends but I really appreciate the social interactions, care, and comfort that I've gotten here. I know one of you on Facebook, one of you I also know through email, and I have zoom coffee with one of you. I greatly look forward to the comments and exchanges we have here. (I can't believe you find my posts interesting enough to read.) I thank you for the additional social contact. 

Again, I've been very fortunate. I have not suffered much from the pandemic and to the extent I have, I have other sources, don't feel pressured, I just want you to know you are appreciated. 

I also want everyone to remember that a lot of what most of us are going through is temporary. We are all hitting a wall. It will get easier. Everyone good in your life will understand if you want to talk and will be there for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.