Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Antonia

I was chatting to William this morning. He told me about his National Service. He was a reluctant conscript but did his duty to the best of his abilities. One morning the Company Sgt Major remarked to him that his only redeeming feature was his shooting. He then told William, “You may be National Service, but I would want you with me in a fight.” Compliments do not come much higher. 

Then we heard ladies voices and along came Antonia with her mother. My day was complete. 
Antonia gave me permission to take her portrait and we were done in minutes. Then I said, “You are a Doctor.” She was a bit taken aback but said, “Close, I was a Medical Writer.” My senses are still working. I like her relaxed, soft looks. Antonia was a bit scornful when I said she would make a great portrait subject. I had to assure her that her looks are strong, yet appealing and while a little shy she exudes confidence. 

Yesterday I posted about the Green Beret. One of the men, definitely no longer boys, on parade with me was “Coke” Snelson.” Known as “Coke” to everyone for his habit of always having Bacardi in his coke. Coke was a handsome lad, he loved his closest mates, all Junior Marines who joined at 15 ½ years old. They made the best Marines. I can see them now, Ben Sherman shirts and jeans, bovver boots, bouncing around to Ska music. Nutters of the first high water.

There are many tales told about brave men, this one may take some beating. He passed the SC3 course to become a Swimmer/Canoeist with the Special Boat Service. He rose rapidly to become an exceptional member of the unit. Whilst based in Gibraltar a Soviet warship was due to visit Gib, a rare occurrence. As the ship was new the Admiralty desperately wanted to know what her hull was like. Coke and two other men, with extra weight belts swam to the harbour entrance and settled themselves in the silt, they used rebreather apparatus, no bubbles. The ship entered harbour, there was 8 feet clearance between her hull and the lads in the mud. They filmed every inch. 

Coke was tasked with trialling a new form of Limpit mine, the explosive device attached to ships hulls to sink them. He took it up to the range, some say he attached it to a drain cover, set the timer and waited, and waited. No bang. Coke approached the device, it is said he was moving away when the mine went off. 20th Dec1983. Aged 29 he had the world at his feet. I never knew his first name was Paul, until he died.

These stories are known, mainly because of a book, Black Water, by a former SB operative. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.