wrperry

By wrperry

Great Horned Owl

My sister and I went owl hunting a couple of days ago, in a stretch of pine forest known for owl sightings.  We spotted one in flight overhead, but I only caught a glimpse of it, and that was the end of that.  I went back on my own this morning, packed with patience, and hoping for luck.  I was there for about an hour when I literally gasped - there he was, already checking me out.  I've been searching for owls all winter, trying to find one in the wild, completely on my own.  This doesn't quite count, since I was given a tip about its location, but it was still quite a thrill.

I've included a photo of what I believe is a Hermit Thrush, taken at the same location.  A confirmation on the ID is always welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.