The Victory Theatre

After I'd had my first jab this morning I dropped into the Victory Cafe for a coffee, then a wander through the Victory Theatre Antique Centre behind.
I haven't been there for a while, and I was surprised how much good stuff was there, along with the usual, of course.
I picked up a shell map of Australia, to add to my collection.
It was very cheap, but then I guess it's a niche market:)
I've put a couple of old girls in extra.
They've been around as long as I can remember and are probably due some long service leave:)
I only had the Ricoh with me, but took a few shots of things that caught my eye.
Flickr

Blackheathens might be interested in a potted history of the place, lifted from Cinema Treasures, which is a pretty great site.

Neate’s Hall was opened in 1915. In 1921 it was renamed Arcadia Picture Palace and began screening movies. It was later renamed Arcadia Theatre. It was also known as Blackheath Talkies in the early-1930’s. In 1946 it was re-named Victory Theatre. By 1952, it was operated by Blue Mountain Theatres.
For many years since closing in the 1960’s it has operated as an ice skating rink,a reception hall, a peg factory, a seatbelt factory and a junk yard. It has operated as a large antiques store, cafe and art gallery in recent years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.