Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Whoops

I had got my skis as a Christmas present in December 1964 when the correct length was your standing height with your arm stretched above your head and the hand cupped. Things were to change over the years when in the 21st century they were probably never more than shoulder-high.

Back in 1964 many skis, including mine, were made of wood. I was out messing around with our hosts son Gerhard on the Schollenwiesen Lift at the back of his house while the adults were up on the more testing  Hannenkamm mountain in the village.

One of the tests was going over a smallish jump. On one of my runs, I landed with the skis somewhat bent and the points slapped down onto the snow. One of the tips broke off!

We didn't have any money for new skis, so I just continued for the rest of the holiday using the broken one, just trying to lift the tip as much as possible if there were any bumps.

The photo taken in the host families orchard garden. Top left with Uncle Jochen, bottom left with his friend Mr Fink.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.