Access

A "No Access" sign has gone up on a locked gate across a track in the Estate, with no indication why, and every likelihood that it has no legal status. So, today, I was happy to bypass it on a track that's said to be private by people who have lived in Penicuik all their lives, and gives access to this fine view across the High Pond. However, from my reading of the Scottish Land Reform Act, I clearly have responsible access via this track (and the one with the new sign). Even if I know my rights, I want to avoid confrontation, but what can one do in the face of provocation?

In the afternoon, I went into Edinburgh for my Friday meeting with И: there was much to discuss during the course of a pleasant walk from her flat. Then came shopping and my visit to Mum.

Interesting how the eulogies to the Duke of Edinburgh overlook his many racist comments over the years! I won't miss him in the least!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.