Beanntraí

The excitement! I had to go into Bantry for some banking business. With all the excitement I forgot my camera but, unusually, I did remember my phone which was just as well as the sea was extraordinary! Dead calm and mirror-like. The tide was out but I liked all the colours in the town. Everyone is closed but has been painting in anticipation of opening sometime soon. The market was on though and I bought some olives. Going home took ages as the main road is up - it's been up for centuries, the whole thing being tarmacked from the town right up to Durrus Cross. I just love the smell of tar. When I was little I had whooping cough and can distinctly remember being propelled towards any road-making and being told to inhale the tarry smell. When I got into Durrus the street was thronged - a funeral. I thought it was just over but no, I got stuck just in front of the church and had to wait respectfully whilst the coffin was brought out of the hearse and carried up the many steps to the church. I saw Angelshare in the crowd  and have since found out it was a very local man. He had an impressive send off. 
The weather remains good and the afternoon was spent digging over the very bare patch front of the newly painted house, ready to put something in.
Yesterday's abstract was too easy - yes three images of licheny rocks superimposed upon each other. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.