30 Years

Today was always a special, calendar-marked day. 30 years ago to the day today my (Annie’s) boyfriend, Simon, died after a motorcycle accident. I was 17, he was 18 - and at that moment I was changed forever as a person. For the better mostly, I like to think - more thoughtful about life in general.

Every 10 years I visit his grave and lay flowers now. I leave a note, addressed to him but primarily for his lovely parents - I hope they see them. It's one of the things I love most about Chris, that he has no problem at all taking a day off to reminisce about someone he knows was important to me, despite never knowing him. They'd have got on I think.

The day was made especially great by a visit to the garden of my childhood best friend and husband. We chatted over tea - I'd not seen them for such a long time due to the various lockdowns. She knew Simon, and I always felt slightly guilty that Simon died the day before her 18th birthday - it took a little of the shine off it!

Finally we went to eat some sandwiches and have a walk at Byron's pool in Grantchester. The blip is the river Granta / Cam just down from the pool.  

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.