RIP Prince Philip

Prince Philip was on my mind as I did my Friday shop. I'd taken the camera with me in case I saw a flag at half-mast, or something else relevant to the Duke of Ediburgh's passing, to blip in tribute. I'd just shut the gate when a pony and trap/sulky came up the lane. I grabbed the camera and shot the above, I didn't have time to adjust the shutter speed to blur the wheels. I'm sure this Traveller uses similar skills to those employed by Prince Philip when he was driving the 'Balmoral Dog Cart', even though carriage driving is a gentleman's sport. It was touching that the Prince's granddaughter Lady Louise went carriage driving today in tribute.

I was interested that Boris spoke of the WWII Battle Of Cape Matapan and that Prince Philip was mentioned in dispatches for his role in this  MrQ and I have sailed these waters.  The Duke of Edinburgh loved the sea and said that sailing is good for the soul.

Prince Philip has been a constant all of my life. There are not many of my parents' generation who lived through the war left. This and the underlying pandemic sorrow that we all are feeling makes his passing particularly poignant. 

I'm proud of my DofE bronze award.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.