public transit

It turns out the infrastructure plan does not explicitly mention cybersecurity and the electrical grid. It is assumed that it will be addressed as part of improving the resilience of the electrical grid. 

Imagine you are in Pakistan in say 2008. The power goes out and it is hot, say 115 degrees F. (This is how hot it was when I was in Pakistan so I can imagine it quite well.) You call the utility. They take your information. You let all of your employees go for the day because they can't work because there is no electricity. They don't get paid and their families don't eat that night. And it is hot. The next morning, at the utility, the engineers gather around a giant paper map of all the reported outages and figure out where to send the crews. Only then does anyone go out to physically check on anything and began repairs. And it is hot. 

People get cranky when it is hot and they have no AC and no work and sometimes things get ..... testy. 

Now imagine that the power is out. You call in. The information is entered into the computer.  Someone is dispatched immediately. Or, even better, sensors let the utility know the power was out without your having to call. Or, better still, the equipment was so sophisticated that the utility knew the power went out in one spot and rerouted power so you barely noticed anything happened. (I did not work on this project but the project did great things, including teaching linemen how to be safe and reducing deaths.)

Grid modernization is cool and it allows for better service and saves money and improves customer satisfaction. But it also means your entire electrical system can now be hacked. 

Phooey!

I'm so glad I picked the bee picture for yesterday and I'm so glad you liked it 

Eligiblity for the vaccines has opened up and everyone in my state qualifies now. I think I am number 4,893,589,416 out of 4 million. Don't tell me that this is mathematically impossible, my county was doing so badly we were on 60 Minutes. We used to be the second to worst state and then we got better and were 45/50. We are slightly above average now, so we're improving. 

BTW, I can't believe I posted a stereotype about Britain and NO ONE objected, not even to pick on me right back. Fine, act like grown ups. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.