The Way I See Things

By JDO

Blossoming

The weather is beginning to get me down now. It was another bitterly cold day, with dreadful light, and almost no insects on the wing. In fact I spotted a pair of female Andrena scotica, both with full pollen brushes, simply sitting on one of my aucubas - such an unusual sight, because these solitary bees have only a limited time span in which to build and provision their nests and therefore tend to work flat out, that I had to assume they'd become too cold to fly, and were sitting there in the hope that the sun would emerge and warm them. It didn't, and as I was photographing them one of the two slid gently off her leaf and fell through the shrub, an experience I fear won't have improved her state.

When I arrived home yesterday I heard the first chiffchaff here this spring calling from the hedgerow across the lane, and today it spent an hour or so feeding and calling down in our wild garden. I stalked it for a while without managing to get any acceptable photos, but when I went up to Tilly's field in the hope of finding some insects on the blossom hedges it seemed to follow me, and I did finally get some shots of it in the furthest corner of the field. They've lost out to this image though, which is a big Bombus terrestris queen feeding on the blossom of a wild damson tree. I like it because it gives the wholly false impression that it was a bright, spring-like day - and also because the bee was quite a long way up in the tree, and I'm always pleased when I manage to take a reasonable insect photo with the long lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.