Picnic!

The last time I saw my sister was on a picnic in the Costco car park. And I saw her again today. For another picnic. In the Costco car park!  Exciting lives we lead!  

Costco is almost exactly half way between our two homes and she had to come here today to renew her membership so I agreed to join her. Not quite ‘local’, and the stay local rule is still in place, though the government keeps waffling back and forth about it, so who knows?  I haven’t seen most of my family for more than 6 months, some not since December 2019 even though none live very far away. Aneeta (7) and Jasmine (5), my sister’s two granddaughters, were with her today while their mum and dad (both doctors) were working, so it seemed a good arrangement. Plus - I had cake from yesterday that I very much needed to share!

I didn’t need to go into the store today, so I met them outside and they bought me my lunch. Everyone had their favourites - pizza for me, hot dogs for the girls and a jacket potato with chilli and cheese for my sister. Then afternoon tea with cake afterwards. I drove Alfie the Campervan so there was a place for everyone to sit with lots of fresh air with the doors open wide. And when the girls got restless, I had a table and chairs for them to sit outside.

Actually, Jasmine kept wanting us to close the door and finally I realised that she wanted to be left alone shut inside. She’s just at that age to be really curious about the Campervan and how it would be to ‘live’ in it!  She wanted to open all the cupboard doors to see what I kept in each one. She was very entertaining! I look forward to camping with them again this summer when all restrictions have hopefully been lifted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.