ferryoons

By ferryoons

Tangly trees

Walking the woods today, there were plenty of visitors from outside. Time to turn up the social distancing precautions again. And honestly, do you really need a satnav to follow a footpath? "You have missed your turning, take a u-turn." Daft really, especially when he hadn't got to his turning for another 20 yards anyway.

And anyway...  Further down the hill a couple asked me why I was photographing this tree, down in a gully. I said "see all  this tangle of branches, spread left and right, filling all this space? It all comes from one root."  "Oh" they said, and asked me what that incredibly rare flowering shrub was.  A flowering currant. Perfectly common.

And anyway...  Norwestie and I walked on down the hill, and they watched me taking pictures of other tangly trees, admiring their sculptural quality and the lichen on the branches. They took close ups of gorse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.