JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 190

World Book Day 2013

If it was a clear day these books from my study shelves would point to Largo in Fife where Alexander Selkirk lived and sallied forth to become a celebrity castaway of his day. Such was his notoriety that it prompted Daniel Defoe to base his story of Robinson Crusoe on him.

My vintage books and I took a risk as the tide was coming in. The wind kept blowing the pages like an early Hollywood film technique to represent the passage of time. I had to snatch this blip very quickly and then my books before we all got washed away!

I am grateful to Pleach - link below if I can make it work - for reminding us all about Defoe in yesterday's blip from Pleach's Journal.

Enjoy World Book Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.