Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Unimpressed

I ummed and ahd about whether to break the bounds of my parish and take the train up to Ilkley for a change of scene but ended up just walking from home onto my local moor once again. 

On the way up to the moor I bumped into a new neighbourhood venture: alpaca walks. Four were being led up to the moor on what looked like a birthday treat for some little people. 

More conventional wildlife included Stonechat, Golden Plover, Lapwing and Curlew. By this time last year I’d seen my first Green Hairstreak butterfly of the year, but today the bilberry (their food plant) was barely in leaf and I doubt that the recent cool temperatures have encouraged them along. 

There were snow flurries throughout the day. Coming back along Sconce Lane I thought this shed was looking unimpressed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.