randomgirl

By randomgirl

Sunny evening

I seemed to have missed the sun all day. When I went for a walk earlier on there was a lot of grey clouds around that kept trying to throw out more hail or snow. And after that I was busy all the rest of the day till now.

However by early evening because the sky had turned blue and there was such a beautiful golden light, I kept wishing I could go outside again. I wandered out for just a few minutes and managed to snap a quick photo, as seen here. It was actually just as the sun was about to set, so I was lucky I got there in time.

You can't see in this photo because they're right in the distance, but since yesterday there have been the first of the local ewes and their newborn lambs deposited in this field. There's something special about seeing the lambs again for the first time each year....but also each year it feels a bit more bittersweet to me - because we live so close by and get to witness some aspects of sheep farming that aren't so nice. For example, each summer when they separate the lambs from their mums and put them in different fields, you can hear them bleating for several nights in a row until they finally give up calling for each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.