Perfection

Great day. Woke to more wall to wall sunshine (and frosted cars!) so checked email and put the out of office on then headed off east to Yellowcraig beach. I’d seen photos of it but never been here before, and decided to park here and then walk along to North Berwick...listening to my novel The Hoarder all the way, spotting oystercatchers and enjoying the sun and the waves and the vast expanse of beach (extra)
Grabbed some (not very nice) chips to eat sitting on the sea wall, then a rhubarb crumble gelato whilst soaking up the sun in a warm corner in the town. Found a yarn shop and on the spur of the moment bought some chunky yarn to make A a sloppy jumper...deciding on the colour with her via some texts in the shop.
Walked back along the beach again...definitely in my happy space! Just before I left the beach I decided to just spend an hour lying relaxing on the sand....it was surprisingly warm and so lovely, with just the sound of the waves and some children laughing and playing in the sand nearby...some of the very few people around all day.
Left the beach and stopped briefly at a supermarket on my way home to pick up some salad for supper and wander around a very quiet Haddington - surprised to find I’ve walked 10 miles today (and no sore hip)! Had jolly chats with T and V when I got home. T looking forward to collecting his new van tomorrow as the gardening work ramps up. K called to say Shirley Williams has died....very sad to hear that (and surprised, since I hadn’t realised she was 90). What a woman (like her mother) and what a jolt back to memories of the Gang of Four and the founding of the SDP in the early 1980s....I had no idea till I heard reports on the radio that it was nearly 40 years ago!
Started the jumper...knits up like a dream and very quickly had about 6” done, then a good book group chat discussing A Thousand Ships which we all really enjoyed. Good to see everyone again...although we can’t work out when we’ll see each other again in the flesh....will probably be in hazelh’s garden once that’s finished

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.