One Swallow Doesn't Make A Summer ...

... but the sight of the first one I've seen this year wheeling high overhead this morning gave me a fillip.

Ollie dog was still in hunting mode. She sent a pussycat predator packing and stalked a grey squirrel on the bank of the lake this afternoon. I was delighted to find a cowslip in bloom by the water's edge. It was exactly opposite the bank on our property where we used to have them. Unfortunately ours were dug up for gardens.

I've added an image of an immature Norway spruce cone. Why haven't I noticed before that they are pink?

PS The first greater stitchwort flower has opened in Butterfly Alley. Very late this year. I saw some in full bloom at Holyfield Farm but they were on south-facing banks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.