Ups and downs

Up early and fair bounced down the hill to the hairdressers. So good to get rid of my shaggy mane and also get some tips on how to work with what I’m keeping since it’s still longer than it used to be.
Lovely blue skies and sunshine so when I came out I decided to nip up Calton Hill to take a look around. Stunning views in all directions, although now the ‘golden jobby’ hotel is finished its intrusion on the skyline is so clear, especially when it glints in the sun....
Headed home and settled to doing some indoor stuff whilst waiting in for the electrician and joiner. Finally got round to doing some mending and sewing (hate sewing!) thank goodness....finally can strike that off the to do list!
Electrician arrived first and replaced the faulty spotlights and chatted to me about his garden makeover, but had to wait till nearly the end of the day for the joiner to arrive. I was mortified....I’d asked him to come because there have been strange popping and cracking noises under the flooring by the sink and one other spot in the kitchen but when I went to show him both areas were silent! I couldn’t believe it...this has been driving me bonkers for months and I’d waited til now as it didn’t count as an emergency so the firm couldn’t come into the house, but how can it just have stopped on its own?! We looked at my photos of before they laid the floor so he could check what was underneath (he wondered if it might have been the number of pipes there), and luckily he’s a lovely guy who saw the funny side of it and left me his own phone number to call if it starts again, but I still felt like a stupid old woman. D’oh!
Anyway, by then it felt too late to go out again for a walk although it was still sunny so I settled down to knit and then have supper. This jumper is knitting up so fast, and very easy to do, so I’m very pleased I bought the yarn.
Delighted to hear today that we’re allowed to travel around Scotland from Friday and see people outdoors and had invites from G&F and from VickyG to go visit at the weekend so am going to Glasgow on Saturday and Fife on Sunday...and meeting up with some of book group in hazelh’s garden on Friday evening. My goodness that’s more of a social life than I’ve had for months! Will be great :)
Checking back over the years I find that 4 years ago I was in Washington today and that today's blip is my most viewed photo on blip by a mile (more than 700!) - in fact that few days trip fills all my 'most viewed' pages on the stats. Puzzling as to why - and can't only be because I was in the States as I've been other places there in the last few years. Odd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.