Plus ça change...

By SooB

Handyman

Lovely lazy day.

Even though I was up early 'supervising' children (for which read 'dozing in an armchair with a warm laptop') it was still a very lovely day. Off to another friend's house nearby for barbie lunch and a very chilled afternoon in the hot hot Chiswick sun watching the kids fight and tumble.

These are the hands of a friend who I will refer to as Rob, mainly because that's his name, who I keep trying to lure onto blip. Not in a subtle way or anything, but lately I've stepped it up since he's 'between jobs' just now so it seems a perfect time for a new friendly hobby. Anyway, he was being all arty creating stonehenge out of corks (or something) and then decided to make a champagne chair. If you've not had the pleasure, this was something introduced to me many many years ago in Marseilles by our french student: you basically make a chair shape out of the fizz bottle wire and foil, then sit on it and squash it for good luck. (I'm sure marypot will remember that well.)

I often end up making these, sometimes on request, sometimes through boredom or footeryness, but this was the first time I'd seen someone else have a go. I think he did a fine job and am happy to cede the role to him in future (that wire really hurts my fingers).

I can't recall whether anyone sat on it, but I do know you get whatever you wish for if you sit on one.... No, really. Try it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.