Pushing on

Up early to go and collect V and all her stuff for the office and we headed in for the first time since before Christmas. So strange not to be in my slippers all day! L came in as well and although I spent the whole day in (online) meetings we had a couple of chats and laughs (and soup!) at various points and V was delighted to be back sorting us out and looking after everything.
Hard to see all the sunshine out of the window and be stuck at my desk but I’ve got 2 more days off and then the weekend to look forward to and will make the most of it all.
In the evening worked some more then back to the knitting...
Sad to hear that my uncle died today. I didn't know him at all well - my mum had 6 sisters and one brother, George, and like most of them he emigrated young, in his case to Canada. I met up with him in 2015 when he was visiting my aunt in California and I was over there  to be with Mt&H before AR was born, and then again in 2019 when I had a flying work trip to Toronto. When I saw him in California I remember saying I didn't think I'd met him before and he told me he'd babysat for me a few times when I was about 2 years old. Lovely gentle kind man - I cannot imagine what it was like to be the second youngest in a family of (very!) strongminded women (although interestingly the ones who had successful marriages all ended up with men just like him!). Maureen in California was the youngest, and she's now sad to be the last remaining one of her generation. I really must email her and ask questions about my grandparents and great grandparents as I'd love to start a family history of my maternal grandmother's family and I'm sure she could give me some pointers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.