The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Black beauty

Continuing the swan theme, the Kendal black swan was on the Kent again today with its companion, they make an odd couple. And couple is what they are beginning to look like, despite the species difference, and the immaturity of the mute swan companion. Today, the black swan was doing the aggressive seeing off of the adult mutes, quite impressively too. Who knows if this is a he or a she? Unlike mutes, there are no obvious differences of the sexes.

It was a quiet day otherwise. I had a dental checkup, and hooray, there were no holes to fill, no treatment needed. I just wish I hadn't had such a sweet tooth when I was a child, or else my fangs would be in perfect nick today.

There was some welcome rain overnight, but we need more to fill up the West Cumbria lakes that are used as reservoirs. There is a fine balance in the water supply, with little long term storage, the system relies on regular rain in the catchment, which historically in the Lake District was always reliable. But the old assumptions are open to question now as the climate is changing, and we get prolonged dry spells at unexpected times.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's swans. I'm sorry I am so far behind with comments. I am being a poor subscriber at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.