Using the tools from my earlier Blip

A few days ago I pictured some some driver bit heads.  Since then I have dug up some of the even smaller bit heads and started to use them.  Much to my delight I have been successful in rebuilding my infra red thermometer left of picture above and my digital calipers.  These had been designed so that they could not be taken apart.  Using the Leatherman shown in an earlier blip, I eased the back cover, which had been fixed on with contact adhesive, by gently rocking the blade between the cover and the steel back until it released without distortion.  I then used some of the various screw driver bits to extract the screws so that the printed circuit board could be carefully removed.  I then removed the rubber button assembly from the board and cleaned everything.  Reversing the procedure provided me with a fully functioning device.  I have done this with several items of test equipment etc., over the past few days and am delighted with what I have achieved with a few relatively low cost tools.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.