earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Gordale Scar

An excursion to Malham at the request of Shannon, to celebrate her birthday. Her timing was good in respect to the easing of lockdown and being able to convene outdoors for a drink and a pub meal after our walk. It felt like a significant milestone, although eating in gloves is not exactly ideal!

Ordering was all driven by apps on the phone and it was interesting to note that the two youngest of our party - Shenny and Anna - led the way on the technical side, both showing off their project management skills. Thank goodness. Even if I had a phone capable of running an app, I think I would have found this a challenging business. It was a project.

I'd done my bit earlier by leading the party on the scramble up Gordale Scar, sadly forgetting that the route wasn't going to work for Roam and Whiskey. The poor dog was a little frustrated at having to spend so much time on the lead, as was Roam, having to hold on to him. Accompanied by Forrest, they took another route and rejoined us at the top of the cove. All the girls did great on the climb.

After our food and drink, Forrest and I enjoyed a run to Weets Top and then over Carlton Moor before returning to Malham along the Pennine Way. I'd not been on that valley path in 44 years. My legs were fine but my stomach wasn't. I used to be able to cope with eating and running. Not any more. It's all part of Forrest's training for long-distance events. Needless to say, he coped fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.