Vineyards and the North Downs

It remained very sunny with that cold northeasterly breeze. It was warm out of the wind at the allotment this morning causing me to take my jacket off again.

Today I mowed all the pathways, edging and trimming most of them. It’s looking quite smart. I never quite get to the state when I think I can just potter there! The first row of radish are through and I thought I saw tiny seed leaves of parsnip and beetroot.

Plenty more to do yet. Finish the edging, cultivate the strip alongside the boundary fence, turn a huge weed bin into a new space, sow more seeds, plant out broad beans....

We walked up near the North Downs this afternoon, through these new vineyards, planted last year and owned by either Chapel Down or Nyetimber. Today’s blip is of those new vineyards against the oilseed rape which is coming into flower and the Downs all against the deep blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.