One life to live

By otornblom

Me and other tourists...

... were shooting this distinctive landmark of Helsinki, Helsinki Cathedral. The church was originally built from 1830-1852 as a tribute to the Grand Duke of Finland, Tsar Nicholas I of Russia. It was also known as St Nicholas' Church until the independence of Finland in 1917. It was designed by Carl Ludvig Engel as the climax of his Senate Square layout: it is surrounded by other, smaller buildings designed by him.

It was a sunny day in Helsinki but with cold wind. One should always remember to wear the warmest clothes when visiting Helsinki - it's very windy city.

In the evening before driving home we ate at Hard Rock Cafe. I once again was reminded that I'm quite old - music was way too loud to me....
BTW, previous time I visited Hard Rock Cafe in Beijing in 2008. It was my first meal in China (greetings to Janika :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.