Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

All locked up!

The replacement locks arrived today after the lost key event last week.

Thought I'd capture something before I started putting them in.

I've discovered an awful lot about this kind of Euro-Cylinder lock over the last week. A few things you maybe should be aware of.

Most doors nowadays are fitted with this kind of lock.
Most are fitted as standard by the door manufacturer.
Most of these are low quality locks - just a few pounds.
Most can be picked quite easily with a simple tool - you'll never know you've been burgled!
Most of them are not the correct size - too large and a significant amount of the lock is exposed on the outside. We had five such locks. All installed with the wrong lock size in.

Because of how they are constructed, most can be easily broken by using a pair of mole-grips on the exposed part on the outside. You should have no more than a mm or two proud of the handle plate. Even if there is insufficient to grab, a screw-driver behind the handle plate will given enough to grab and break off the outside of the lock.
Once broken, a screwdriver can be used to unlock the door with no effort. This can be done in just a few seconds and with little noise.

And you thought you were safe!

You need locks that are anti-bumping and anti-snap. That is they are less open to being picked and they have a section that is designed to break without giving access to the lock mechanism. These locks cost around £30 each. I have had to replace 6 locks after a key (with our name on a USB stick intended for homework attached) was lost - One's son has been told not to do that (again!). Don't trust a £5-£10 lock.

They should be easy to fit - just one screw. So, I thought I would do five out of the six locks tonight. Except of course, a simple job always turns into a nightmare. One side of the conservatory doors have to be partially disassembled before the said screw can be accessed. Once disassembled, I found the screw simply won't budge. Agh! I have stripped the cross head out trying to loosen it - Double Agh!

I put it back together and the doors wouldn't close - Double Double Agh!!!
We have two sets of double doors - loosing the will to live....

Now I have a job for the weekend.

Serves me right for starting a ten minute job at 7:30pm.....

At least I got a nice image.

Now I suggest you look closely at your locks and see if you are vulnerable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.