New Camera!

Well, this was an Ebay purchase gone wrong. You know how you're sitting in front of the screen putting in silly bids on things, and a few sober days later you win one. DOH.

I wasn't meant to be buying anything for another month in fact until after a few bills were paid, but what harm could happen?

Ah well, I now own a s/h Canon 50D with an unbelievable number of exposures already on it. Shouldn't really worry about that considering I'm about to add another 300,000 exposures to this poor camera this year.

Taken a few photographs and it's so nice to finally have a camera that's been built in the last 5 years. I love my old 400Ds, but time had well past to move up a bit. Having said that, it's not the kit that matters but what you take, and considering my 400Ds have won quite a few photography awards, they haven't done bad.

But the move upwards is really for technical reasons, two in fact. I had two problems last year - buffer on the 400D simply wasn't big enough for large groups of bikers and so I was missing loads of shots if a group of more than 6 came up the mountain. Second reason is that the 400D at 3fps wasn't fast enough either as I was missing some great shots whilst I waited for the camera to take the next photograph - especially of bikers.

And when I did large groups (eg the 5,500 photos in 2 hours one Saturday morning), the camera just could not keep up. I probably missed 1k of shots as the 400D just wasn't fast enough. (Not that it mattered because I only sold 5 photographs that day!)

Took today off work, keeping it low as this cold is slightly on me. Not bad, but I don't want it to be bad. Back to the grindstone tomorrow and Saturday though. Want the new tub enclosure and bathroom drywalled by the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.