randomgirl

By randomgirl

Queensferry Crossing, Firth of Forth

Today my husband and I drove to Edinburgh and back, to take one of our daughters (& her pet budgie!) back to her student flat there. Normally she takes the train, but this time she had lots of extra belongings to take back with her.

It was a beautiful day, the road wasn't too busy and it turned into quite a fun road trip. I hadn't travelled beyond the Highlands for over a year, so it made a nice change to see so much of Scotland in one day, and to experience the feel of a big (well, relative to Inverness) city again..... even if all we did when we got there was just carry her stuff up to the 3rd floor and sit on her bed for about 20 minutes!

The main photo is the new road bridge over the Firth of Forth that was only opened a few years ago. It's always quite exciting to drive over it. The extra was a view from a layby in the Highlands, where we stopped for a few minutes on our journey home. Bit of a shame that there was an accumulation of litter lying around and I wasn't able to keep it out of the foreground of my picture.

I really enjoyed the travelling/going somewhere different aspect of today and it made me feel refreshed and positive. It also felt nice that as we got close to Inverness and saw the view from the top of the hill down towards the town, the surrounding hills and the blue of the Moray Firth, I suddenly thought that out of all the scenery I'd seen today, this view was the most beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.