madowoi

By madowoi

Maple Flowers

Only the distraction, and the exaggerated sense of care   
Here at the heart of spring—all year long these feelings
Alternately wither and bloom, while a dense abstraction   
Hides them. But now the mental dance of solitude resumes,   
And life seems smaller, placed against the background   
Of this story with the empty, moral quality of an expansive   
Gesture made up out of trees and clouds and air.

from The Late Wisconsin Spring, by John Koethe

This poem is much too long to include here, and the budding trees don't come till the end. I've discovered this poet recently and been drawn to the fact that he sometimes references Milwaukee in his work. 

I spent almost the whole day inside with my eyeballs glued to the computer getting coursework done, but I did get outside for a little bit to walk around on the marsh. Also spent the time outside talking to mom, which is always nice. 

These blooms jumped out at me in part because of a great photo I recently saw from Chrelizg21. If I had walked to other side of the field I might have taken a similar photo, but on this side the color scheme is more magenta.

Jo is coming back tomorrow, so there is a big day of driving ahead. Still much to do before bed so I'd better get to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.