Upstaging

W.C. Fields is reputed to have declared, "Never work with children or animals. They'll steal every scene." 

At the Cambodian Buddhist New Year celebration today, my two favorite photos feature the world's greatest scene-stealers (see Extra).

No haters showed up. They like to threaten and bully people, but they don't like to be seen and identified. The atmosphere of the celebation was love, coming in and going out: utterly joyful. As I gazed at the elders, I thought about the Khmer Rouge and the suffering they have all experienced, and I marveled at their ability to be present in this place, this moment, with these people from their home country, with children and strangers who know nothing of what they have seen and suffered. Tears kept rising to my eyes. 

Such deep respect. The Cambodian people have much to teach us about trauma, surviving trauma, starting again, being in this moment. I am paying attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.