Finding something to eat

I thought I had a blip when this morning a young Tui landed in one of the close pohutukawa and puffed itself up and sang for attention. I was pleased that I got the exposure settings right.

However, this afternoon, I decided to have a walk on the mudflats which were rapidly being uncovered by the retreating tide. The first "target" I formed was the flock of Kuihi (Canada geese) a couple of hundred metres away from the shore. On the way towards them I saw a Poaka pair, and then a white faced heron, which allowed me to get into a good position for the light and reflections, before deciding enough was enough and flying elsewhere.

Back to trying to get close to the Kuihi, which had already noticed me and made warning honks. I turned to try and see the heron again and instead saw what could only be a couple of Royal Spoonbills, back closer to the shore amongst some rocks. Headed that way, and as I got closer, I saw the characteristic scuttling run of Matuku Moana, the dark blue reef heron. It ran past the spoonbills (although it paused briefly) and then flew off out towards the Kuihi.

I remained there and took some photos of the spoonbills, which on most other days would have been my blip. Then walked back out towards the Kuihi, and the Matuku moana, which I had not lost sight of. Walking slowly and at the right angle towards it, I got close enough to take the photo I have chosen as my blip.

Unlike the white faced heron, this is usually solitary. I think that all those I have seen have been on their own at the time. This is the 48th different species I have seen and photographed this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.