Windmill 'De Korenaar', Poortvliet

'Korenaar' = 'ear of corn' or 'ear of wheat'

Left on time because I wanted to be back in time to watch Prince Philip's funeral.  Yes, I was back on time and, yes, I did watch it.  What a sad day for Her Majesty, and yet I have no doubt it was a marriage like many others, with its good days and bad moments, crises and triumphs, and, especially in their case, dozens and dozens of milestones.  I was glad that it was a sunny day at Windsor, at the least.  The last thing you want on a day like this is grey rain.

The 'Korenaar' was facing away from the road, so I simply walked around the block, hoping I didn't have to trespass in some backyard or other.  The whole property was for sale, apparently, and has just been bought, so hopefully the new owners will do the necessary repairs and cleaning, because the whole thing, windmill and house and gardens, was so obviously neglected and left as a dump.  For a moment, I even thought of Marlieske's Derelict Sunday challenge, but, okay, it wasn't that bad.

I am getting along well with the Moons MOOC (because I didn't subscribe, I don't need to take the exams, which is lovely), but also with Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children, a fascinating book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.