Kites

The kite pair were occasionally wheeling overhead and distant in terms of photographic evidence on what was going on however later in the day I met a couple who thought the kites were passing an old boot between them. Silly me! I thought they had a skylark (no I don't need new glasses  it was a long way away) but on looking at the shots I have - rubbish  ones I might add as it was distant - yes I think they were having fun passing a boot  tho' practising passing food. It was ace to watch and a bit gutted that I wasn't a few miles back on my tracks. Did it as an extra but don't hold it against me we are all friends here  ?!

I was on the common again twice in two days, Poppy is absolutely shattered but we have had an ace walk together again today looking for the ringed ouzels. Still no joy on that front - why well who knows? At a point in all this I thought I might have spotted one but wouldn't put money on it!

Poppy in all this has let herself down. Oh yes. Fantastic to be with, beautifully behaved and so very intelligent but no nose for an ouzel. No really! How can this be!? I can hear you gasping! Astonishing when playing the ouzel call to her on my phone  (which you are not supposed to do!) she just didn't go and find it!  ;) 

Stunning up there on Cleeve Hill all today and met a couple who were at the red backed shrike scenario up in Sutton Park a long time ago and if they hadn't spotted the ouzel either it was quite quite reassuring really. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.