Galloway_Matt

By Galloway_Matt

Finding Colour In The Grey

Sunday was a grey day and my internal mood matched the world outside my window.
I find the best way for me to work through these feelings is to slow my world right down. Accept that they’re with me and allow myself the space to process them.
So my day mainly became one of sitting with binoculars and a bird book. Watching the visitors to the bird feeders.
Late in the afternoon, I drove out to the coast for a wander along the cliff tops near Stairhaven. A tiny cluster of houses on Luce Bay.  
It always feels so quiet here, even for Galloway. I wonder if people actually live here or if these houses are all holiday lets. 
 
Sat empty, enjoying the break from the noise and rush that humans bring with them. Finally getting to hear the sounds of the world and relaxing deeply into it with a sigh of happiness.
 
Behind the houses, the path up to the cliffs began its steep climb upwards. Through the abundant gorse and hawthorn blossom. Everywhere a delight of yellow and white with the coconut smell of the gorse filling the air.
 
The top was reached fairly swiftly, mainly due to the clouds of midges on the way up which deterred stopping and enjoying the views.
The breeze soon cleared them as I set off along the cliffs. Views in the distance over the bay to the Mull Of Galloway.
The gorse continued to be a feature though, the yellow so vibrant today. Adding some colour to a sky and sea that was still very grey, but not in a dull way. The clouds were many shades of grey and there was a hint of light in the distance reflecting off the sea.
 
After a few miles of wandering, I noticed what looked like a seal below me. Nearby rocks provided a good place to sit, overlooking the water and waiting to see if the seal would return.
But no, the fleeting glimpse was all I would get today. So instead I lay on the rocks, enjoying the sounds of the waves below before returning home in the fading light.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.