Crabbing

I enjoyed a walk with H this morning, walking from Blakeney to Cley and back.  However the main theme of my blip today is about the traditional seaside pastime of 'crabbing', which I have some concerns about. 

My extra is a discarded crab line laying at the bottom of the water, a potential entanglement for any unsuspecting wildlife.  I'm presuming that it was lost in the water by accident and not discarded deliberately

I know crabbing from the quay is a traditional pastime much enjoyed by families and I don't wish to come across as a 'kill-joy' but following investigations by Cambridge University students, it was revealed that overcrowding crabs in buckets could cause stress for the smaller ones and lead to fights.  They recommend the following:-

• Keeping only ten crabs or fewer in a bucket at a time;
• Holding the captives in seawater  -  and changing the water every hour;
• Making sure your bucket isn't in direct sunlight.

I would feel happier about this pastime if these three points could be displayed on notices where crabbing takes place. 

On a lighter note, M and I popped over to Sheringham today, walked down to the sea front and enjoyed our first ice cream of the summer, a Sicilian Kiss (chocolate plus something boozy) for him and Apple Crumble flavour for me.  All made locally with fresh ingredients...delicious, even if it was cold enough to be wearing a warm fleece while eating it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.