Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Second Covid Jag Day‘

Got my second Covid jag today....

Or is it a jab - a controversial issue, particularly when everybody’s having one these days - the answer seems to be ‘it depend on where you live’!

I’d received my blue envelope last week, summoning me to come to the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) at 0912 hours this morning to be given my second dose of the vaccine.  

It was a pleasant walk up the hill to the West End - and traffic free through Rutland Square and Edinburgh’s new financial district.

My route included a pedestrian bridge (second photo) that crosses the ‘West Approach Road’, which follows the line of the old Caledonian Railway westward out of the city. This bridge offers a splendid view of both old and new Edinburgh - from the 18th Century New Barracks and Governor’s House of Edinburgh Castle, to the mid 19th century tenements on Lothian Road, and the late 20th/early 21st office blocks of the Financial District.

The actual vaccination process was extremely well organised, both friendly and efficient, and with virtually no waiting at all. All the staff are absolutely amazing and it was all over in less than 15 minutes! 

Now I’m just waiting to see if I have any of the (comparatively minor) side effects that some people have reported!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.