Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Small White Wildflowers

Three for the price of one for WildFlowerWeek. 

Left: Blackhaw ~ Viburnum prunifolium
Right top: Wild Strawberry ~ Fragaria vesca
Right bottom: Corn Salad ~ Valerianella locusta

I'm somewhat dubious about the third one, the corn salad, but that's what Seek said, so... maybe? It just looked like a slightly different type of "chickweed" to me.

We had our first bear visit of the season yesterday evening just before dark. I had already taken the feeders in, fortunately. Bugsy went out and was barking hysterically so I went to investigate and found him at the bottom of a tree with one bear cub just descending and running off, and a second still on its way down. Bugsy's barking and then my shouting somewhat surprisingly caused them to come down rather than to go further up (which you'd think would be what Mama would have taught them to do), but in any case they ran off and Bugsy came back to me looking like he was afraid he'd done something wrong (well, I was shouting), which he certainly hadn't really. No sign of Mama Bear, which was a blessing. The cubs looked very large for their probable age, and very healthy - so I assume Mama was nearby and is doing an excellent job of caring for them thus far. As you might imagine, bird feeding will now be severely curtailed. Thus a new focus on flowers, insects, and other random wildlife. Birds won't be coming around so much if I stop putting out the massive buffet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.